REVIEW : ORICOM SECURE 850 VIDEO BABY MONITOR

oricom-secure-850-baby-video-monitor-1

The Oricom Secure850 baby monitor is a digital video monitor that includes a pan tilt camera and a secure talk back feature.

The Oricom Secure850 features a video zoom & infrared camera unit so you can check in on your baby day & night, a room temperature display & alert, a night light and 5 lullabies you can remotely play to your baby.

Price: $249

Availability: Oricom stockists

We love …

  • large screen with zoom function
  • super easy to use
  • can accommodate up to 4 cameras
  • ability to talk to your baby and/or play nursery rhymes via the parent unit

In use …

Out-of-the-box, the Oricom Secure850 is easy to set up.  Firstly, get the parent unit charging, it will take about 30 minutes to charge completely, but like most phones etc, you can use it while it’s charging.  Secondly, position the camera centrally in your baby’s room either on it’s base or your can hang it from the wall.  No need to adjust the camera, you can do that remotely using the parent unit.

The Secure850’s parent unit is pretty user-friendly.  You can see all the info you need displayed across the top of the screen including reception, room temperature (which I really like) and battery life.  The cross shaped button on the left allows you to control the sound, switch cameras (you can connect up to 4 cameras) and play lullabies.  Press the sound buttons for 2 seconds and you can zoom in on your baby.  Press the camera button (next to the power button) and the cross will allow you to move the camera around the room.  Press the long bar button on the bottom to talk to your baby.

The parent unit’s video is activated by noise, you can adjust it to be more or less sensitive depending on your needs, specifically to accommodate how noisy a sleeper your baby is and outside noise.  The camera automatically adjusts to infrared in low light and at night.

The Secure850’s baby monitor’s picture and sound quality is pretty good.  How much you can zoom in on your baby will depend on how far away the camera is.  Also, the range is good, we live in a double brick terrace, and we get good reception all through the house + the small front & back yards.  Much further though, and it’s kaput.

The lullabies are a bit bing-bong in an electronic lift muzak kind of way.  Although it’s not so pleasant for you (it does sound much better in your baby’s room), don’t underestimate the power of a little bit of muzak as part of your baby’s sleep routine.  We’ve had a lot of success resettling our little guy with familiar bed-time mobile muzak.  Being able to do it remotely via the baby monitor would be even better.

Finally, the Oricom Secure850 baby monitor is great quality.  I wouldn’t suggest you let your baby play with it, but if they did accidentally get their chubby hands on it, it’s not going to smash or break if it gets dropped.

oricom-baby-monitor-2Consider this …

The Secure850 baby monitor’s parent unit is reasonably heavy & bulky to accommodate the large screen, so you can’t wear it around like some other baby monitor parent units.  However it does come with a little stand so you can set it up somewhere convenient.

The camera only has one small hole in the base to hang it from the wall.  For extra security, you might want to use some double-sided mounting tape.

The Oricom Secure850 has features you might miss.  While the instructions are reasonably easy to follow, I would have found video instructions useful to get a feel for what this baby monitor can do for me.

The verdict …

Overall, the Oricom Secure850 baby monitor is pretty impressive.  It does everything you need a baby monitor to do plus a bit more.  Also, I think it’s very reasonably priced at $249 (+ $129 for each extra camera).

I’d defiantly recommend it to friends.

 

oricom-secure-850-baby-video-monitor-3oricom-secure-850-baby-video-monitor-2

 

lightbulb-fb

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Competition!  Thanks to Oricom we have a Secure850 baby monitor to giveaway.  Enter below to win this great monitor valued at $249.

Facebook
Twitter
Google+0
Pinterest0
Print0
E-Mail

About

Vanessa loves great design. Beauty, function and innovation get her excited. When she’s not hunting down the next big baby idea, she’s busy with her day job and being a mum to her 3 lovely boys.


'REVIEW : ORICOM SECURE 850 VIDEO BABY MONITOR' have 105 comments

  1. January 11, 2015 @ 7:51 pm Stephanie Lacy

    in dire need of this to move baby to nursery

  2. January 11, 2015 @ 7:21 am Laura Groff

    i think this camera is awesome and wld use for my grand babies thank you

  3. January 10, 2015 @ 11:12 am AmberB

    Sounds fantastic!

  4. January 9, 2015 @ 2:10 pm Evelynne Cahyadi

    I use oricom baby monitor when my 2nd son was born 4.5years ago and he still use it until now. I love the fact that it doesn’t get interfere with other signals ie from mobile phone, so the voice is very clear. Also the room temperature feature gives me a piece of mind so I can always adjust my air cond temperature if needed.
    I’m having my 3rd baby in a few months time and currently been shopping around for Oricom baby monitor too. I’m hoping to win this competition so I can use the money elsewhere.

  5. January 9, 2015 @ 1:49 pm Sarah Armstrong

    Great idea to be able to see as well as hear what they are up to

  6. January 9, 2015 @ 11:15 am tonya dreese

    Love it, makes me feel secure already. :)

  7. January 7, 2015 @ 5:34 pm Stacey w

    The Oricom Secure 850 Digital Video Baby Monitor would be perfect to keep an eye on my twin girls when they arrive in early March. With my first son I was always waking him up by peaking in his room when he was sleeping.

  8. January 6, 2015 @ 4:42 pm Lauren

    looks amazing!

  9. January 6, 2015 @ 3:44 pm Virginia Mason

    What a great way to ensure our cherubs are sleeping beautifully, especially with the distance of our master bedroom to our little one’s room. I often think my little one is awake so I rush over to check, where as they are just making noises and resettling themselves back to sleep. The video feature would ensure peace of mind.

  10. January 6, 2015 @ 3:08 am brandi hawn

    these are so cool, i’d like to get a few to keep an eye on my boys even though they’re not babies any longer! lol if i win though i’ll give this to my brother and sister in law to use with their new baby, they’ve been wanting one but can’t afford it and nobody had given them one :)

  11. January 5, 2015 @ 11:46 pm Kim

    With having now 2 children this baby monitor would mean i could spend more quality time with my oldest son without having to leave what we are doing to check on bubs but with only 1 wage now i couldn’t possibly afford this kind of baby monitor and havnt been aboe to buy one yet!

  12. January 5, 2015 @ 10:13 pm Jerry Cundiff

    My SIL is very ill, this would be good to keep an eye on her.

  13. January 5, 2015 @ 2:45 pm Sarah Blockley

    I love that you can actually speak to your baby through the parent unit and it’s really neat that you can also zoom in just to double check that the little one is still breathing and sleeping soundly without the risk of disturbing them- what great features!

  14. January 5, 2015 @ 1:29 pm Elizabeth

    This would be great. Being able to see what mischief my son is up to in his cot without going into his room.

  15. January 5, 2015 @ 12:57 pm Kat

    I’m seriously considering a video monitor. Bubs is still in our room at the moment because his room is at the other end of the house! I’d feel much better if I could check on him visually as well as hear him on the monitor.

  16. January 4, 2015 @ 11:22 pm Amanda

    A baby monitor is a necessity for the comfort of reassurance for any new parent.
    I think that technology is making devices such as these better than ever before – a big benefit of living in the digital age

  17. January 4, 2015 @ 7:13 pm Mrs lynne maree lillington

    At this price its affordable for all families, nothing beats being able to see bub when sleeping. Oricom monitors give the reassurance that all mums need and can still be used as they grow so they are never out of sight.

  18. January 4, 2015 @ 6:37 pm Natalie

    Peace and ease how delightful it would be, the tippy toe sneak to take a peek… I could just look and see with ease.

  19. January 4, 2015 @ 6:10 pm Catherine

    Love the Oricom monitors, wouldn’t trust anything else.

  20. January 4, 2015 @ 3:44 pm MichelleAnn Y

    Goodness, this is so much more than a baby monitor, it really is peace of mind, I love the idea re info displayed across the top of it, the zoom function and the music. I agree with you, it is reasonably priced considering all the technology and advantages that come with it.

  21. January 4, 2015 @ 2:56 pm Beverly Strong Chisnall

    This would be great for my 7 month old twin grandbabies.

  22. January 4, 2015 @ 2:44 pm amber kolb

    This looks wonderful! My baby niece stops breathing in her sleep and has a monitor, but I think this would put my sister even more at ease. Thank you!

  23. January 4, 2015 @ 11:19 am jennie

    Looks like a great monitor!

  24. January 4, 2015 @ 10:48 am dennis prater

    Thanks for the chance to win

  25. January 4, 2015 @ 10:19 am Nicole

    this looks really nice. I need a new one after my son got ahold of his monitor and broke the screen by chewing on it!

  26. January 4, 2015 @ 9:56 am Ashley Agner

    This is so awesome and I would love to have it for my baby!

  27. January 4, 2015 @ 9:51 am STEPHANIE

    LOVE IT!

  28. January 4, 2015 @ 9:49 am Jamie Shapiro

    This looks AMAZING! I would love to win this, they’re generally too pricey for me :/

  29. January 4, 2015 @ 9:23 am Doris Gardner

    Awesome giveaway!!

  30. January 4, 2015 @ 9:18 am Joan Leonard

    Thank you for the opportunity

  31. January 4, 2015 @ 2:35 am Amie George

    This is fantastic… Definitely be able to sleep better knowing I can just check in so easily

  32. January 4, 2015 @ 2:30 am KyLee Mills

    Great monitor!!!!!

  33. January 4, 2015 @ 1:46 am Kathy storer

    Id love to win so I can keep an eye on my 8 week old son Thomas

  34. January 4, 2015 @ 12:21 am Valerie

    I can watch my little one anywhere in the house. It is very convenient.

  35. January 4, 2015 @ 12:18 am Robin Childress

    My Niece is having her first baby. This would make such a lovely gift for her new family.

  36. January 3, 2015 @ 8:43 pm Vicki

    Thanks for the detailed review will definitely look into getting one of these thanks!

  37. January 3, 2015 @ 8:42 pm Samantha

    I am a huge Oricom fan from my first child and now i have a second i would love to get another. The piece of mind they provide with their consistently good quality and reliability is priceless.

  38. January 3, 2015 @ 8:24 pm Tracy H

    Appears to be a GREAT Product! Not big and Bulky!! Thanks!

  39. January 3, 2015 @ 6:34 pm Jasmine

    Love the zoom option on the Oricom monitor. Great for peace of mind.

  40. January 3, 2015 @ 4:49 pm Tammy

    Sounds so awesome!

  41. January 3, 2015 @ 3:33 pm jjakins22@gmail.com

    would love to win

  42. January 3, 2015 @ 1:57 pm Rosalie B

    Would so love an oricom helping hand as a first time mum – due in July…

  43. January 3, 2015 @ 11:47 am Wendy Hatton

    What a great way especially for new parents to feel a little more relaxed at home. Infrared for night time ‘spying’ is terrific too.

  44. January 3, 2015 @ 11:28 am April

    This would be amazing to win :)

  45. January 3, 2015 @ 10:50 am marie

    Would love 3 this

  46. January 3, 2015 @ 9:27 am saroja

    love to win this

  47. January 3, 2015 @ 8:24 am Colleen Maul

    I think this is a wonderful giveaway. There are so many reasons to have one of these. LOVE IT>>>>:)

  48. January 3, 2015 @ 8:16 am hamjenny66@gmail.com

    Awesome design I would love to give this to my friend who is expecting in a couple months.

  49. January 3, 2015 @ 7:08 am nycmartini@msn.com

    Perfect gift for my best friend’s baby shower.

  50. January 3, 2015 @ 6:54 am kristen mcclary

    thanks for this awesome chance love the blog

  51. January 3, 2015 @ 2:31 am Claire Tutka

    Would love this for my bub due in 3 weeks!

  52. January 2, 2015 @ 11:20 pm Sonia

    Such a cool baby monitor to keep an eye on lil man. Would be amazing to have one!

  53. January 2, 2015 @ 10:48 pm karen turner

    The Oricom Secure850 baby monitor certainly is impressive, thanks for the opportunity to win one.

  54. January 2, 2015 @ 8:11 pm Lizzy

    just the perfect gift for my dearest friend for her Baby Shower… she will appreciate this!!

  55. January 2, 2015 @ 7:19 pm Jessica ashbrooke

    Love this would be a peace of mind

  56. January 2, 2015 @ 6:06 pm Kathy Clark

    I think when of these would be perfect and put any new mums minds at rest

  57. January 2, 2015 @ 5:39 pm Sarah

    It’s great being able to see the kids. Especially when you can’t hear them.

  58. January 2, 2015 @ 4:53 pm karina l

    Just what I need to keep one eye on my 9 month old who is always up to no good when I put her down to sleep!

  59. January 2, 2015 @ 4:38 pm Stephanie

    Would love to win!

  60. January 2, 2015 @ 3:52 pm Elizabeth Fielding

    This monitor us fantastic, our friends have one, I am having my second baby in April and this is a great choice with so many features.

  61. January 2, 2015 @ 3:34 pm Christi E

    This would be perfect to go in my daughter’s room!

  62. January 2, 2015 @ 3:24 pm Paige Yang

    This digital video baby monitor would give me peace of mind. With it, I wouldn’t have to go up and down to check whether my baby is in a safe situation because we’re living in a townhouse.

  63. January 2, 2015 @ 2:25 pm Trish W

    I’ve been browsing the Oricom website and am so impressed with the Secure850 baby monitor’s features. Whether I win or not, I’d love to purchase one, it is simply perfect for keeping an eye on Bub.

  64. January 2, 2015 @ 2:02 pm Stephanie Veljanovska

    I would love this to make it easier to have fun with my toddler whilst the baby is sleeping and not having to check on her every few minutes.

  65. January 2, 2015 @ 1:30 pm sam

    very practical and useful

  66. January 2, 2015 @ 12:17 pm David

    This would be perfect as my wife and I are expecting our first child.

  67. January 2, 2015 @ 12:08 pm christine lee

    I’ve been looking for a baby monitor for a while now and this one seems to fit the bill – I especially love its easy setup so you can start using it right out of the box!

  68. January 2, 2015 @ 11:55 am Kelly

    This monitor looks awesome!

  69. January 2, 2015 @ 11:53 am tashana purkis

    with bubby due in a few weeks this would be amazing the reviews are superb

  70. January 2, 2015 @ 11:50 am Linda Courtney

    Sight, sound and piece of mind.

  71. January 2, 2015 @ 10:55 am Melissa Douglass

    I am due with my second child this month and this is something that is on my wish list!

  72. January 2, 2015 @ 10:52 am Alison Briggs

    I would love this with Little Miss on the way. I am a bit of a nervous nelly and this would save me going in to check only to find it wasn’t her and end up waking her anyway. I like that you can get extra camera’s too.

  73. January 2, 2015 @ 10:33 am Grace

    This would bring peace of mind and security for my family, great when travelling also. Thankyou great giveaway

  74. January 2, 2015 @ 10:31 am Jessica

    I would love the ability to remotely move my little one’s monitor.

  75. January 2, 2015 @ 10:23 am Kristy

    Love this. We are due in April. The screen pic on this looks fantastic. Being able to add cameras is a great idea. Definitely would make us feel a lot more safer when our precious one is in another room sleeping or playing.

  76. January 2, 2015 @ 10:21 am Rachel

    This looks like a great product!!

  77. January 2, 2015 @ 10:14 am Wella

    I constantly need to look after baby while doing multiple tasks. This monitor will be great to have around the house.

  78. January 2, 2015 @ 9:48 am marypres@gmail.com

    This would be superb. Thank you for the opportunity.

  79. January 2, 2015 @ 9:23 am Melanie

    With bub due in 3 months this would be ideal.

  80. January 2, 2015 @ 9:19 am Lisa

    This would be perfect with my toddler and belly bub arriving in Feb. We’d been looking at a smaller model but the screen on this awesome and adding multiple cameras is fantastic :)

  81. January 2, 2015 @ 9:17 am Jill Hamilton

    I love it, peace of mind with our new baby will be so important, I get so anxious , are they okay, are they breathing, etc etc, neurotic mum, this would be awesome…

  82. January 2, 2015 @ 9:16 am Karyn

    I just moved my 3 month old into his own room. I’d love to keep an eye on him while not disturbing him! I think my husband would like the fact I’m not constantly worried about him too. I love that you can control the camera. Great for worriers like me!

  83. January 2, 2015 @ 9:14 am alm3820@bigpond.com

    It looks fantastic! All the features you need in s monitor, and a few more!

  84. January 2, 2015 @ 9:12 am Jean

    Would love to have one for my son’s bedroom as we want him to sleep on himself

  85. January 2, 2015 @ 9:07 am Melanie

    What a fantastic prize is love this for the new baby on the way & mr 2

  86. January 2, 2015 @ 8:57 am Dana

    Remote operation & temperature are the key features to me, would love one of these units for peace of mind and avoid going into the little ones room frequently to check on her.

  87. January 2, 2015 @ 8:52 am Belinda

    i wanted to get an Oricom monitor when our first was born seven years ago, but with each child (2 so far) it was an expense we couldn’t justify. I’m now due with our third (and final) child in March so would be delighted to win one of these monitors!!

  88. January 2, 2015 @ 8:37 am Teags

    Would love to try this, I don’t have a working baby monitor and it would be perfect.

  89. January 2, 2015 @ 8:17 am Melissa K

    The Oricom Secure 850 Digital Video Baby Monitor with pan tilt camera sounds great, good luck everyone!

  90. January 2, 2015 @ 8:10 am sarah

    This looks good- would love to win this in time for our second baby’ s arrival in May

  91. January 2, 2015 @ 7:54 am tim

    I have been using the smaller model and need to have another one setup the functionality I this one is quite excellent and the sound is really good in my model.

  92. January 2, 2015 @ 7:48 am Lesleigh

    This is such a great prize for peace of mind.

  93. January 2, 2015 @ 7:47 am Mandy Graham

    I’d love to try out The Oricom Secure850 baby monitor.

  94. January 2, 2015 @ 7:44 am christine morris

    This would be perfect for my Daughter-inlaw and my new Granddaughter, it would be a big help being able to check on her newborn making sure she is safe in her cot.:)

  95. January 2, 2015 @ 7:29 am simone

    I really love the feature of being able to control the camera remotely. The zoom in and pan features are awesome as i’m quite the nervous type when I put my newborn to bed and being able to see him without going in and disturbing him would help me relax and enjoy the few hours that he does actually sleep :-)

  96. January 2, 2015 @ 7:02 am Laura Powers

    Great product come in very handy for baby number 2 arriving in April

  97. January 2, 2015 @ 6:51 am Ash

    Looks pretty easy to use and being able to see the room temperature is a great idea. Great peace of mind for a new parent.

  98. January 2, 2015 @ 6:14 am Anna

    This Oricom monitor has some great features that our current monitor sadly lacks. With bub #2 on the way we would love to upgrade!

  99. January 2, 2015 @ 6:11 am Amelia

    I have the old Oricom monitor and think it’s great but this one looks amazing! The moving camera would be fantastic for when bub number 2 goes into her cot and moves all around!!

  100. January 2, 2015 @ 3:47 am Paulie

    Great sounding product, so if I don’t win one…
    I’ll be buying one

  101. January 2, 2015 @ 3:45 am Trish

    This is exactly what I need for my willful toddler who has just gone in to her big bed! Never mind the baby :)

  102. January 2, 2015 @ 2:56 am sharyn

    I would love to get my daughter to win and review baby monitor as she has had 2 stillborn baby’s 5&7 months.
    She now has a daughter whom is 3 months and i know this would keep her mind at ease to look any time to see if her daughter is doing ok.

  103. January 2, 2015 @ 2:45 am Rachel K

    Thank you for such a thorough review. I love the fact it has a LARGE display which would make such a difference, The quality of the viewing looks exceptional and apparently there is no lag. It sounds like the perfect system that no mother should be without!

  104. January 2, 2015 @ 2:06 am Kira Van Bremen

    I would love to try out Oricom security 850 digital video baby monitor. It would be a great thing to ensure that my baby is sleeping safely and to ensue me that I can always have eyes on him without the worry. Thank you for the giveaway

  105. January 1, 2015 @ 11:52 pm jo

    Love the new baby monitor great features


Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published.

COPYRIGHT MADE 4 BABY 2014