REVIEW : PHIL&TEDS EMOTION CARRIER

m4b-philandteds-emotion

The phil&teds emotion carrier is a traditional style carrier that’s suitable for your baby from newborn to 15kgs.  It offers two front facing carrying positions, inward & outward.

The emotion carrier is made from a cotton mix fabric and comes in black, midnight blue & scarlet colours.

Price: $89

Availability: Baby Bunting with other phil&teds stockists to follow

We love …

  • magnetic top clips (so smart)
  • integrated headrest for your newborn
  • ability to adjust before popping your baby in
  • soft fabrics

In use …

My first experience with the emotion was one of frustration.  I’m so used to clipping baby carriers from the back that it took me a little while to figure out that the emotion zips at the side.  So you put the phil&teds emotion carrier on a bit like a back-to-frount backpack.   What makes the emotion carrier different is that it forms a  little pocket you can slide your baby into.  This means you can fully adjust the emotion carrier before you pop your baby in.

Getting your baby into the phil&teds emotion is pretty easy with only 2 clips to do up on one side (you might get away with one if you’re tricky).  The top clip though, is a bit magical.  Or should I say magnetic.  Phil&teds call it their one-hand system, but it’s so effective it’s almost no-hands.  All you need to do is get the clip in the right vicinity & the magnet does the job for you.  (It’s also very easy to undo).

As I mentioned above, the phil&teds emotion carrier has an inbuilt head support for your newborn or sleeping baby.  It’s a pretty standard design, the top folds up to support your newborn’s head, then folds down when your baby wants to look out & around.  There’s also an adjustable crotch strap so you can adjust the emotion carrier in length as your baby grows.

The phil&teds emotion’s waist strap sits pretty high, so most your baby’s weight is distributed across your shoulders & back.  The large plastic buckle that joins the back straps is surprising comfortable and effective in alleviating weight from your shoulders.  Depending on your stamina, you should get about 2 hours comfortable carrying time from your emotion carrier.

I know it’s near last, but it was one of the first things I noticed about the emotion carrier; the lovely soft fabric.  Really nice (& somewhat cool) against the skin.  The quilted finish is also a nice touch.

Finally, keeping your phil&teds emotion carrier clean is easy.  It comes with a detachable bib on both the front & back which protects you & the carrier from inevitable dribble.  If, by any chance, dribble & dirt does make its way onto your carrier, just chuck it in the machine.

Consider this …
The phil&teds emotion carrier is made for small to large mums (it will be a tight squeeze size 18+) and small & medium dads.  If you’re a larger size, try the emotion on for size before you buy.

The verdict …

The phil&teds emotion carrier is a well designed and comfortable carrier.  The quality is great and the price reasonable.

It’s only downfall is it’s sizing.  Our tester family were disappointed that it didn’t fit dad!

Yay!  Giveaway time.  Thanks to phil&teds we have a trifecta of baby carriers to giveaway.  Enter below to win an phil&teds emotion carrier valued at $89.  Visit our phil&teds airlight & parade reviews for more carrier giveaways.

phil-and-teds-emotion-33emotion-carrier-44

philandteds-emotion-carrier-2

lightbulb-fb COMPETITION

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Facebook
Twitter
Google+0
Pinterest0
Print0
E-Mail

About

Vanessa loves great design. Beauty, function and innovation get her excited. When she’s not hunting down the next big baby idea, she’s busy with her day job and being a mum to her 3 lovely boys.


'REVIEW : PHIL&TEDS EMOTION CARRIER' have 27 comments

  1. December 20, 2014 @ 12:56 pm Michelle Harrison

    A wonderful and functional way to carry my baby safely

  2. December 19, 2014 @ 11:44 pm Michelle

    This looks like it would be comfortable.

  3. December 19, 2014 @ 2:22 pm trish

    I need this!!!! Petite mumma = carriers just don’t fit properly!

  4. December 19, 2014 @ 1:06 pm Ebony W

    Love the idea of being able to fully adjust the carrier before putting my 3 month old in! I have had too many awkward car park carrier adjustments to count.

  5. December 19, 2014 @ 9:07 am Kristy

    Looks very supportive

  6. December 18, 2014 @ 5:36 pm Paige Yang

    The soft fabric is very gentle to baby. Just like its name ’emotion’, this carrier would keep my baby much closer to me.

  7. December 18, 2014 @ 12:23 am Valerie Wee

    I like inward & outward to carry baby. When baby is still young, I can keep baby close to me. When she grows bigger, I want to show her the world.

  8. December 15, 2014 @ 6:15 pm Kathy Clark

    This would not hurt or put a Strain on my Back

  9. December 13, 2014 @ 9:18 pm Alison B

    I think this would be amazing for my little Miss on the way. I love the design , especially being able to carry her and distribute her weight evenly. I’m sure my body will be most grateful 😀

  10. December 13, 2014 @ 11:20 am Anna Rowan

    I like that it faces both ways safely. And I love that it looks so stylish being comfortable at the same time!

  11. December 13, 2014 @ 7:02 am Angela Vearing

    I love how easy this looks and sounds to use. With 2 older children in tow a quick and easy carrier sounds too good to be true. It looks amazing, comfortable and the front and back facing is fantastic as my sticky beak would definitely want the view but snuggles when tired.

  12. December 13, 2014 @ 4:17 am Rachel K

    I love the way it is designed to fit your body and nurture your baby. The way it distributes weight evenly over your torso for maximum comfort would be perfect for me as I suffer from a bad back and hips! Sounds like a wonderful product and one I would be most appreciative of winning!

  13. December 12, 2014 @ 12:48 pm Vanessa

    Looks amazing, can’t wait to get one!

  14. December 11, 2014 @ 10:33 am Carlie

    What a great carrier. I love that it is so comfortable and would fit mummy and daddy both very comfortably. Perfect for baby no.2. PLUS it has magnetic top clips! Got to love that!
    Thank you for the opportunity to enter and knowledge on this new product! x

  15. December 9, 2014 @ 11:34 pm Trish W

    I love the one-hand system, perfect when struggling to put a wriggling baby into the carrier! And the sizing is perfect for this pint-sized mum & dad 😛

  16. December 9, 2014 @ 9:43 pm Lauren Moloney

    Looks great!

  17. December 7, 2014 @ 9:45 pm Vanessa

    I just found out about this carrier and I’m very interested… however as a result of your review, I am now a little concerned about the sizing… My husband and I are over 6ft tall. We’re not large, but I guess we’re not small either, so I’ll need to check this out instore soon to make sure it fits! Thanks for the honest review! :)

  18. December 7, 2014 @ 12:34 am Karlene

    Thanks for your honest review in stating that it would be too small for large-framed dads.

  19. December 6, 2014 @ 9:58 pm Lisa Bartlett

    A carrier that’s as light as air – what a great looking product

  20. December 5, 2014 @ 8:36 pm Karina

    I love the fact that it will fit both small mums and hubby as well, so you only need one carrier

  21. December 5, 2014 @ 3:35 pm Lisa

    I love this carrier, it looks perfect for carrying my little koala 😛 ( son ) hehe

  22. December 5, 2014 @ 1:56 pm Corinne

    Looks so interesting and also the fact that it’ll fit small mums like me!

  23. December 5, 2014 @ 9:04 am Indra

    Thank you so much for the detailed review!

  24. December 5, 2014 @ 8:46 am Natalie

    This appears to be a really well thought out carrier – the mechanism sounds simple and sensible, and the functions incl washability very practical. I’m most impressed by the description of the fabric though. What I hate about my ergo is the rough fabric that rubs against my baby’s face. This carrier appears to have similar functions and capabilities to the ergo but in a soft material. I would love to have one of these!

  25. December 5, 2014 @ 7:24 am Ash

    Love the magnetic clips, head rest. and little pocket you can slide baby into too. The detachable bib is brilliant.

  26. December 5, 2014 @ 1:27 am Chantal

    They look interesting, I’d love to try it!

  27. December 4, 2014 @ 9:41 pm karina l

    Love the magnetic top clips!


Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published.

COPYRIGHT MADE 4 BABY 2014